51st Annual Muskogee Regional Science Fair

51st Annual Science Fair

The 51st Annual Muskogee Regional Science Fair was held in the Muskogee Civic Center on Tuesday and Wednesday, March 7-8, 2017. This year’s fair drew 246 students from 26 schools. There were 190 projects in the junior division and 35 in the senior division, each bringing with them their displays and a wealth of knowledge at a young age.

Members of the Connors State College community were involved in nearly every aspect of the event, from pre-planning and organization assistance, to judging of exhibitions. Connors students, faculty and staff made up nearly half of this year’s judges and provided a wide variety of valued expertise.

“Our faculty, staff, and students are very knowledgeable and professional judges,” said Dr. Stuart Woods, Biological Science Instructor. “I am proud to be associated with them all.”

Student exhibitors Sydney Rosson and Sally Keys were each recipients of a $500 tuition scholarship to Connors State College. Keys was also awarded scholarships to ICIC and Northeaster State University.

I was very impressed by the quality and caliber of scientific work presented by area students at the science fair,” said Dr. Julie Dinger, Interim Vice President for Academic and Student Affairs. “The future of our region is bright.”

Sixth-grader Carter Stewart did more than reach his goal of attending the Greater Muskogee Area Regional Science and Engineering Fair. Stewart, Checotah’s only contestant, won the fair’s junior division. As a sixth-grader, Stewart cannot compete in the State Science Fair, March 30 and 31 in Ada, but he doesn’t mind waiting until next year.

Last year’s junior winner, Brendan Crotty, returned to win Best in Fair and the fair’s senior division with his display on improving forge efficiency. Crotty, 14, is home schooled in Muskogee. As Best of Fair and senior division winner, Crotty won $100 and an all-expense paid trip to the International Science Fair this May in Los Angeles.

One team and 25 individuals qualified for the Oklahoma Science Fair.

Best in Show and Senior Division winner: Brendan Crotty, home schooled, Muskogee.

Junior Division: 1. Carter Stewart, Checotah; 2. Caroline Watson, St. Joseph Catholic School; 3. Chanlee McCrary, Muldrow.

State Science Fair Qualifiers: Abby Carter, St. Joseph; Anthony Jimenez, Ben Franklin Science Academy; Watson Schiller, Hilldale; Caroline Watson, St. Joseph; Annebelle Czaruk, Sadler Arts Academy; Felipa Balderas, Stilwell; Madison Walters, Muldrow; Ryan Fullerton, Sadler; Daytona Owle, Hilldale; Chanlee McCrary, Muldrow; Chloe Gamblin, St. Joseph; Pearson Weaver, Hilldale; Colby Garrett, Hilldale; Kacey Fishinghawk, Briggs; Kaylee Dobin, Hilldale; Peyton Vann, Muldrow; Branden Salazar, Muldrow; Kay Leigh Noblin, Westville; Grant Henig, Riverfield Country Day School; Brendan Crotty, home school; Jessica Lord, Wagoner High; Mary Bobo, Wagoner High; Alyssa Jones, Muldrow; James Pals, Riverfield. The team of Sam Wallace, John Walker and Jonas Jackman, Muskogee High.

Ribbon winners

Behavioral and Social Sciences— Junior: 1. tie, Anthony Jimenez, BFSA, Abby Carter, St. Joseph; Senior: 1. Braden Salazar, Muldrow; 2. Adaira Reid, Riverfield; 3. Alex Milton, Riverfield.

Botany — Junior: 1.Jonathan Gatz, Gatz Classical Academy; 2.Emily Zbavitel, York Street Academy; 3. Abbey Morrison, Hilldale.

Chemistry — Junior: 1. Tristan Walters, Woodall; 2. Watson Schiller, Hilldale. Senior: 1. Clair Levesque, Wagoner; 2.McKinzie Foreman, MHS.

Earth and Space — Junior: 1. Carter Stewart, Checotah; 2. Luis Arteaga, Alice Robertson Junior High.

Engineering — Junior: 1. Caroline Watson, St. Joseph; 2. Landren Martin, Sadler; 3. Christalynn Green and Sarah Khajari, BFSA; Senior: 1. Brendan Crotty, home school; 2. Sam Wallace, John Walker, Jonas Jackman, MHS.

Environmental Science — Junior: 1. Anebelle Csaruk, Sadler; 2. Madison Walters, Muldrow. Senior: 1. Jessica Lord, Wagoner; 2. Mary Bobo, Wagoner.

Math and Computer — Junior: 1. Daytona Owle, Hilldale; 2. Ryan Fullerton, Sadler; 3. Myles Few, ARJH.

Medicine and Health — Junior: 1. Chanlee McCrary, Muldrow; 2. Chloe Gamblin, St. Joseph; 3. Meredith Stevenson, ARJH; Senior: 1. Alyssa Jones, Muldrow; 2. James Pals, Riverfield.

Physics — Junior: 1. Kacey Fishinghawk, Briggs; 2. Colby Garrett, Hilldale.

Zoology — Junior: 1. Kaylee Dobin, Hilldale; 2. Peyton Vann, Muldrow. Senior: 1. Emma Seabold and Haven Powell, Muldrow; 2. Emma Eaton, MHS.

Science Fair - Student exhibitors Sydney Rosson and Sally Keys
Student exhibitors Sydney Rosson and Sally Keys were each recipients of a $500 tuition scholarship to Connors State College.